News: Total Lunar Eclipse Early Morning Tomorrow (December 10th) in North America

Total Lunar Eclipse Early Morning Tomorrow (December 10th) in North America

Total Lunar Eclipse Early Morning Tomorrow (December 10th) in North America

The next total lunar eclipse won't occur until April 2014, so if you're interested in seeing the moon engulfed in a light orange to blood red hue, set your alarm and get out there before 9:05 a.m. EST (6:05 a.m. PST, 1405 GMT). I'm planning on taking some High Definition time lapse video of the darkening and reddening that will occur.

Here's a link to an article about this lunar eclipse, with a great informational video and a few pictures.

Total Lunar Eclipse Early Morning Tomorrow (December 10th) in North America

And here is a fantastic but low resolution time lapse video of the full sequence of a total linear eclipse:

13 Comments

Check out the other astronomical news and events that are occurring weekly here.

Yea I was just going to say that!

I remember that one. There were thin clouds here but I could still see it.

Hmmm... I wonder how he did this time lapse. He must have either sat there the whole time or had some kind of tracker because the moon moves.

Yeah. My bet is that he's going to do what I am doing. I'm going to be there following the moon. My uncle has a equitorial mount which would make it much smoother since I would be always following the correct path...but I'm not going to have a chance to borrow it. Maybe in 2014!

I want an equitorial mount soooo bad!

I'm going outside to start filming soon! It's starts in about an hour at 7:45 EST (4:45 PST).

That was fun, but I'm cold! Video hopefully done later today. It was a bit hazy so it's not going to turn out as good as I'd hoped. Still, an awesome sight.

cool, excited to see the results.

I watched it- it was amazing. I too am excited to see your results. Post it to the corkboard!

I missed most of the beginning! I was up late helping someone with a GIS project, then didn't get up in time. But I caught the tail end of it, so not a total loss for me. Now... to watch your video.

Share Your Thoughts

  • Hot
  • Latest